Sunny day

Not every day is about side-effects and hospital visits.

It’s a beautiful sunny dayOak tree, so we went to the park to have a picnic and play. We still want the kids to be able to have fun and do normal family things, and there aren’t too many people (and their germs) out on the grass.

One thing that worries us the most through this all is that our 9-year-old son, Connor, will suffer from the burden (and occasional boredom) of having a sick Mum. Obviously school is a great refuge for him, but we don’t want his family time to be all about looking after me.

When a kid at our church ( older than Connor) heard that I am ill, the first thing that he said was “That will be hard for Connor. I’ll pray for him.” This is the heart of God! I was so chuffed when his Mum told me that I nearly cried. He saw straight away right to the heart of the problem. I can cope with being ill, but Connor is just a kid- and one old enough to understand what’s happening. I wish that as many people could help him through this as are helping me. We have got some play-dates lined up for him in the half-term holidays, which is great as my next chemo session is that week.

And if you haven’t gone outside and felt the sun (or rain) on your face today – quick – go out before it’s too late.

Author: Alex

I work in a college library, and love reading and writing. I write short stories, poetry, blogs and children's stories. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in April 2015.

Leave a Reply

