National poetry day: freedom

What does freedom mean to me?

Freedom to write about anything I like

Without worrying what they think.

Freedom to dance like I’ve had too much to drink.

Freedom to question, to figure out what I believe in.

Freedom to talk about my faith, even if people don’t like it.

Freedom from fear of death.

Freedom to pray.

Freedom to draw silly doodles and to bake flat cakes.Autumn drawing.jpg

Freedom to jump in Autumn leaves and to read a book under a tree.

Freedom to enjoy the life that I’ve been given, for as long or short as it will be.

Freedom to be nobody else, just me.

The best me that I can be.

 

Author: Alex

I work in a college library, and love reading and writing. I write short stories, poetry, blogs and children's stories. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in April 2015.

4 thoughts on “National poetry day: freedom”

  1. I loved this Alex. I was in a bit of a hole yesterday and after reading this, I wrote one in the same format for ME! It was actually very helpful… so many feelings I wasn’t allowing myself to feel. Here’s to living free x x x

    1. Thank you so much, that means a lot to me. ☺ Sometimes people or ourselves or life puts a stranglehold on us, with all of the expectations. Just tried to remind myself that we have been called to life, and life more abundant. X

Leave a Reply

