7 things

There are a few things that I haven’t been able to do since starting chemo. Things that I mostly took for granted in my pre-cancer life. So, once my white blood cells are healthy again, there are a few things that I *can’t wait* to do again.

  1. Chinese take-away

I haven’t been allowed to have any take-aways for months! I know, how did I survive this long? Also, I haven’t been able to go to Chinese restaurants. Therefore my Chinese levels are dangerously low right now.

Chinese yummy

2. Being sociable

I haven’t been able to go to parties or even larger gatherings for such a long time that it’s a wonder that anyone remembers who I am. My doctor advised against going to church too, but I did go, on 2 weeks out of 3 (missing the week where my white blood cell count was at its lowest.) Even then we hid at the back of the building, barricaded ourselves off with the pushchair and didn’t go into the coffee area to chat. So I haven’t spoken to many people at all and certainly haven’t met any new people in what feels like ages. I am not used to being unsociable. Thankfully. I still have met up with a few people, but it’s not the same when you have to be OCD about germs all the time. It’s boring.

3. Brogan’s

I used to be a fully paid-up member of the Brogan’s fan club. But because it is situated in the germ-full wild west that is town centre, I have been banned. They are probably wondering where I am right now and sobbing into their decaff caramel lattes .

4. Cinema

I don’t usually go to the cinema that often, but not being able to go has made it all the more attractive. I usually take Connor to see at least one movie in the school holidays, and I’ve not been able to for the last two. I have told him that when I can go again, we will go and watch a film and he can have all the popcorn and hotdogs that he wants. It will be awesome.

5. Swimming

When I had the PICC line in, swimming was a complete no-no. No it’s out I can’t wait to go swimming. I realise that I won’t be able to wear a headscarf or hat in the pool, so will probably have to endure much staring, which is tiresome. But it will be worth it. Splash splash.

Swimming pool drawing

6. Soft serve ice-cream

Ice-cream vans have been on the banned list too. When I am well enough, there’s a 99 with my name on it. 🙂 (Not literally with my name on it, unless the ice-cream guy is talented with the chocolate sauce.)

99

7. Brie

Soft cheeses have been off the menu too. How is a vegetarian supposed to cope without a brie and cranberry panini for half a year? Ok, I did it when I was pregnant, but that’s a bit different.

Then I was expecting the arrival of a small screaming bundle of joy. Now the only thing that is popping out is some fatty tissue laced with cancer: not quite the same.

Author: Alex

I work in a college library, and love reading and writing. I write short stories, poetry, blogs and children's stories. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in April 2015.

One thought on “7 things”

  1. Amazing how different doctors give different advice. I haven’t done anything differently! My doc said to carry on life as normal – so have been exercising as usual, working full time and going to all my normal things – eating as normal too. Am meeting an old friend for a Chinese tonight by coincidence! I do feel for you with the swimming and PICC line – that must be hard. Glad you are coming out the other side!

Leave a Reply

