A bit like a speech at the Oscars but with less bling

Someone told me that I would find out who my real friends are when I was diagnosed with cancer. They were right.

As the first part of mNot quite the Oscarsy treatment winds to a close, it feels like a good time to thank some of the people who have made this particular unexpected journey that bit less difficult. So, at the risk of sounding like an over-emotional Oscar winner, here goes:

To everyone who has sent a card or gift, made a meal, delivered groceries, prayed for us or made time to chat over the last few months, thank you. I would like to name everyone but actually there are so many people that I am worried I would leave someone out, and that wouldn’t be very nice. So, you know who you are. And I am very grateful.

Our parents: Austin, Heather, Chris and Paul.

You have all been there for us, well, always, but especially since diagnosis. Babysitting, lifts, meals, holidays, chats, cat-sitting, prayers, hugs, everything. Words cannot express how grateful Mike and I (and the kids) are for your love, support and time. We could never repay you but please know how much we love you. Thank God for you.

Laura and Vince: my sister and brother.

For being there even when you are far away. For your visits and messages. I know that you have got my back.

Beliz

I hardly knew you at the start of this year, and if there is just one good thing that has come from having cancer, it’s your friendship. I will never forget your kindness and generosity. Such a blessing.

Laura Firth

For organising meal rotas, making time for us, being silly at (in)appropriate times. A proper friend.

Milly and Wendy

For being such good, loyal friends. I can feel your love zooming to me across the sea.

Andrea and Gabriel

For being like the long-lost Brazilian siblings we never knew we had. Your lights shine so bright.

Kelly

For having time for us and keeping it real.

Rob and Sabine. Colin and Emma. Richard and Jools. And all of your kids.

For opening your homes for Connor and thereby being a real blessing to us. For having lovely kids. For being church.

Jonny and Hayley

For going out of your way to see us. For your friendship.

Dr Sarah

For being inspirational.

Donna

For your kindness and thoughtfulness.

Si and Fi

For being yourselves.

Kat Pollock

For your time and delicious marmalade.

Genevieve

For your generosity even though we had never spoken before.

Sam Thornton

For always coming to chat to me when many people find it easier not to.

Thank you all! May God bless you with more than you could ever ask for or imagine. x

Author: Alex

I work in a college library, and love reading and writing. I write short stories, poetry, blogs and children's stories. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in April 2015.

Leave a Reply

