Just another blog

Faith, fiction and cancer stuff.

Thank you cards

1 Comment

I am having my (hopefully) last chemo on Wednesday. A Picc line in my right arm was put in in early May. The chemo drugs are put into the Picc line to save my veins from being damaged from too many needles. For the past few months I have been to a local doctors’ surgery every week to have my Picc flushed, and to have bloods taken to check that my white blood cell count is high enough before chemo.

The IV nurses who clean my Picc are so friendly and I have enjoyed chatting to them every week. They have made the process so much more pleasant than what it could have been. I actually looked forward to having my Picc cleaned rather than seeing it as just another appointment. Yes they are doing their job, but some people are just made to be nurses because of their caring natures, and these ladies certainly fit the bill.

Today was probably the last time that I will see them as I should be having my Picc taken out on Weds. Yay! I will not miss having to be very careful around water; having to wear a plastic sleeve to shower or bath; and not being able to swim. But I will miss the lovely IV nurses. I got them a thank you card, chocolates and biscuits, but it doesn’t seem enough.

I also saw my oncologist today, possibly for the last time; although I might see him again after surgery, if I need to have radiotherapy. He is a fantastic doctor and I am grateful to have had a nice person who I feel able to ask questions of and be comfortable with.

At my last appt he said that there was a (new) small pea-sized lump, but that has now gone. There is just some thickening now, like you may have after an operation. I take it as a sign of ongoing healing. I had been disappointed about the new lump, but it’s just a reminder to trust God no matter what; with the bad news and the good. He’s got this. He hasn’t forgotten me.

The next medic I will be seeing is my surgeon. I have met him twice already, as he is the one who gave me my initial suspected and then confirmed diagnosis. I  told by other breast cancer patients that he is the best doctor, which is reassuring.

It moochas graciasannoys me when people moan about the NHS without a very good reason: we are so fortunate in the UK to have world-class care for free at point of use. If you think it’s that bad, go private and research how much Americans pay for health care, on top of their regular health insurance premiums. And if you still feel like moaning, don’t do it in front of me.

Author: Alex

I am a teacher and love reading and writing. I write short stories, poetry, blogs and children's stories. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in April 2015.

One thought on “Thank you cards

  1. With you every step of the way! Take care and I look forward to great news x

Leave a Reply

