Just another blog

Faith, fiction and cancer stuff.

Cancer and me – the story goes on

Leave a comment

Milly's Scribblings

I had cancer when I was 15. I had surgery and chemotherapy, and after 5 years I was declared all clear.

I thought that was the end of my cancer story. But what I didn’t realise is, once cancer is part of your life, it is always part of it.

At first I resented it. I didn’t like to refer to myself as a ‘cancer-survivor’. I resented cancer being part of what identified me. I remember once when my mother was researching our family tree. The further back she went, the less she would know of each ancestor, until eventually they would be described by a single sentence – this lady, she died of pneumonia; this guy, he was a farm labororer; this man, he was arrested for neglecting his wife; and so it went. And as I read through her research, I felt pretty glum, because I thought in…

View original post 551 more words

Author: Alex

I am a teacher and love reading and writing. I write short stories, poetry, blogs and children's stories. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in April 2015.

Leave a Reply

