Just another blog

Faith, fiction and cancer stuff.

Look good feel better

Leave a comment

I went to Look Good Feel Better today, at the hospital. This is a free service for women with cancer. It’s a workshop where experts teach you how to cleanse, tone, moisturise and do your own make-up.

The teachers were all professional make-up artists, and one offered to give us a Casualty (medical drama) makeover if we wanted. No one took her up on the offer. I am not a big make-up wearer – usually just wearing some foundation and lipgloss, but I enjoyed the class. You get to do something fun for once, and with people who are in the same boat as you. I actually ended up at the same table as another lady from church. Neither of us knew that the other would be there.

The teachers were enthusiastic and encouraging and helped you when you were struggling with a tricky bit. I admitted that I could never get eyeliner right, and so didn’t bother with it. One of the teachers came and did one of my eyes and then I had a go at the other. I did a pretty good job, even if I say so myself. She then came over to my table a few times and said that if I only do one item of make-up from now on, it needed to be eyeliner as it made my eyes look fabulous. I used to get complimented on my eyes all the time when I was younger, but that was before I got glasses. It was nice to feel attractive again.

The teachers took us through 12 steps – starting at  cleansing, toning and moisturising, through to foundation(s), blush, eyes and finally lips. There is no way that I’ll be doing the whole routine every day, but it’s nice to know how to do it properly if I want to. And even though I have a ton of product on, I don’t look like a clown! Amazing.

Wearing lots of product and not looking like a circus extra – epic.

Make up stash

Look at all the expensive stuff!

We got a big bag of stash to take home too- all donated by the cosmetics companies. I have never splashed out on Elizabeth Arden or Valentino products, and it’s so nice to be treated.

Thanks so much to the Look Good Feel Better team. 🙂

Author: Alex

I am a teacher and love reading and writing. I write short stories, poetry, blogs and children's stories. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in April 2015.

Leave a Reply

