Chemo #3

I had my third round of chemo this morning. Everything went well and there are no side-effects so far.

It’s like a time-warp when you get into the day therapy room: time seems to fly but it drags as well. Also it makes me feel dopey as soon as I get in there, before I have any drugs. I wonder what it’s like working there.

I had a nice long chat with my nurse as she was giving me the red chemo that needs to be done in four syringes into my PICC line – so she was a captive audience for a few minutes, poor thing. We chatted about the NHS; immigration; how Connor is coping with my being ill; hair. A wide variety of topics.

I told her that my oncologist couldn’t find either lump when I saw him on Monday. I said how it had shrunk when I prayed for it. Bless her, she was diplomatic; saying that it was good that my faith would get me through this. I could almost see her thought process: ‘Uh oh, we have an odd one here. Just smile and nod.’ Anyway, I’m not going to hide what happened to me, and I don’t care if that makes people uncomfortable. 😉

It’s Mike’s birthday today. I don’t think that spending half the day in hospital was his idea of fun, but oh well. When you say ‘in sickness and in health’ in the marriage vows, it’s no joke is it?  It’s so easy to love someone when they are young and healthy and there are no worries. Not so easy when real life comes visiting. Thankfully, Mike is a pretty awesome husband. Some people would really struggle with having a spouse with cancer, but it’s only made our marriage stronger. I’m not trying to boast – just chuffed that God has blessed me with just the right person to share my life with.

I’m Me having chemo no 3 half-way through my chemo now, yay.

Author: Alex

I work in a college library, and love reading and writing. I write short stories, poetry, blogs and children's stories. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in April 2015.

Leave a Reply

