Good news

On Saturday night I was praying and felt God say to me that I have been too accepting of the cancer – not that I wanted it, but ‘It’s ok, the chemo and surgery will sort it.’ Etc. I realised that I had been a bit too blasé about it all. Not that I should be really angry or anxious or anything like that, but that I should not just accept being ill.
I put my hand on the bigger lump (2.5 cm in size and very easy to find) and prayed ‘Cancer, I cast you out in Jesus’ name – shrink and go.’ Or words to that effect. As I prayed, I felt the lump shrink. A few minutes later, I checked and could not find the big lump at all. I could feel a strange sort of thickening, which I thought must be the smaller lump, but moved to a different part of the breast (much closer to my armpit.)
This morning, I had an oncologist appointment. I said that I was sure the lump had shrunk. He examined me and said ‘You are responding very well to the chemotherapy.’ I asked what he had actually felt, and he said that he could not find either lump! There is some thickening near my armpit, which is the lymph nodes shrinking. This is a good thing as it means that they are healing.
This is such great news, really the best that we could have hoped for. 🙂
I asked when I would be having another scan, for confirmation. He said that often there is a scan after every 2 or 3 chemo sessions, but there is no need for one in my case. The only way to see if there is any cancer left, is during/ soon after surgery as the surgeon will take samples which will be examined under the microscope to check for any cancer cells. A scan would not pick these up. The reason for this is that it’s like a bath, where the water has been let out but there is scum left on the bath. So even though the lumps have gone, there may be some cancer cells lurking.
I will be continuing with my planned chemo, and obviously the surgery so we can see for sure what’s happening. I am very grateful to the medical profession for all their expertise and will not risk the cancer returning/ completely going by not having the chemo or surgery. Yes I have faith that God has healed me, but there is no need to take unnecessary risks.
I could see that my oncologist was really chuffed, and so am I!
Thank you so much for all of your prayers, messages, food parcels, meals, gifts and friendship. It means so much to us, and we can feel the love. 🙂

You lot are awesome. God is good.

Author: Alex

I work in a college library, and love reading and writing. I write short stories, poetry, blogs and children's stories. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in April 2015.

2 thoughts on “Good news”

  1. Wow. Thank you for this amazing story. You are so real about your situation and yet so open to what God can do (is doing), this is humbling. I am so full of joy that you are well. Praise to God for you and your family. That is why you need to keep writing… Because you will tell extraordinary stories through our ordinary ordeals and situations. Cancer be gone in Jesus name. If this is not a mountain moving then what is.

Leave a Reply

