Boring!

I was thinking how boring having chemo actually is. Mostly it’s waiting around to get better and not going out too much in case I pick up a bug.

Today Mike and I went to town to get me some prescription sunglasses. Usually I don’t bother with sunglasses, especially as there are only about 10.5 sunny days most years anyway. But with being photosensitive, it’s a good excuse as any I guess. I was told that I have to have the big ones as that protects more of my eyes, not small rectangular frames that I would probably go for if I had the choice. I tried a few on, got bored and chose a pair that are huge but (hopefully) not ridiculously so. My head is quite small I have realised.

It was quite exciting being in town – I haven’t done for over a month. It was mostly the same – there is a new bakery that I wouldn’t mind trying one day. It was just nice to be out and see lots of people rushing around with their busy lives.

I wanted something from Sainsbury’s for lunch, so we went there next.

As we entered, we heard the helicopter’s angry blades as it left us in the hot, dusty field. We ran towards a safe-looking concrete hut in the meat aisle, but would it be hiding insurgents? Phew, it was clear. After a short pause to catch our breath in the 40-degree heat, we made for a dried-up river bed in the vegetable aisle. I desperately needed a tomato for my lunch, and just as the prize was in sight, BAM! An old man in front of me stepped on an IED and was hurled through the air. I fell to the ground in shock, the noise still ringing in my ears. Man, that was close. when I had recovered, I gave up the tomato for lost and ran for the bread aisle.

I spotted a lady with a child – she seemed innocent but was it a ruse? I crept up behind her, making no sudden movements, and grabbed a loaf of seeded bread. I hadn’t any time to reach for a doughnut- the risks were too high. The woman suddently turned around to eyeball me, and I saw the spilinters of a hundred broken dreams in her brown eyes. I couldn’t take it any longer. I raced for the self-checkout, closely followed by Mike.

We finally got to the check-out. Just two more minutes and we’d be safe. The sun beat down on my head as I saw a lonely hawk, circling far above. Mike operated the self-checkout like the expert he is. His hands were steady as he pressed the buttons. I held my breath in fear. I kept an eye out for trouble. Our mission complete, we ducked through the exit doors just as someone started shooting at us from behind a rock in the baking aisle. Phew, we were safe at last.

Ok, that wasn’t really how it was in Sainsbury’s. But it felt like it – Mike is so worried that I’m going to get ill that even popping to a supermarket does feel a bit like a military operation.

So yes, it’s mostly boring, with the occasional interesting flirtation with killer bugs.

Author: Alex

I work in a college library, and love reading and writing. I write short stories, poetry, blogs and children's stories. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in April 2015.

Leave a Reply

